posted Jun 27, 2011, 1:58 AM by Riguzzi Fabrizio   [ updated Jun 27, 2011, 2:00 AM ]

             Research Fellowship and Scholar Competition
               Submission deadline - December 16, 2011

 More than any other figure, Turing has left a coherent scientific agenda
 related to many of the 'Big Questions' concerning the relationship between
 the human mind, mechanism in nature, and the mathematics required to
 clarify and answer these questions. The very breadth and fundamental
 nature of Turing's impact makes the centenary celebration a hugely
 opportune period in which to reassert the role of basic thinking in
 relation to deep and intractable problems facing science.

 'The Turing Centenary Research Project - Mind, Mechanism and Mathematics',
 supported by a major grant from the John Templeton Foundation, arises from
 the above-mentioned scientific agenda, and is aimed at researchers still
 within ten years of receiving their Ph.D. The participants in the research
 project will be the winners of the 'Mind, Mechanism and Mathematics'
 competition, designed to provide significant funding support for eight
 young researchers. Five of the winners will become JTF 'Turing Research
 Fellows' with an award of £75,000 each; and awards of £45,000 will be for
 JTF 'Turing Research Scholars' in the 16 to 25 age-group.

 The competition is organised in conjunction with the Turing Centenary
 Celebration, to be held June 22-25, 2012, at the Manchester City Hall and
 the University of Manchester. The award winners will be duly honoured on
 the June 23, 2012 centenary of Turing's birth.

 Further details:


 Honorary Chairs: Rodney Brooks and Sir Roger Penrose

 Submission deadline - December 16, 2011
 Award Notification - March 31, 2012
 Award Ceremony - Turing Centenary Day, June 23, 2012
 Commencement of the research project - July 1, 2012

 Proposals will be judged relative to four research themes:

 Chair of the Judges: S Barry Cooper (Leeds)

 The Judges for Research Theme 1 (The Mathematics of Emergence: The
 Mysteries of Morphogenesis):

 Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Research, Cambridge)
 Stuart Kauffman (Vermont/Santa Fe)
 Cris Moore (New Mexico/Santa Fe)

 The Judges for Research Theme 2 (Possibility of Building a Brain:
 Intelligent Machines, Practice and Theory):

 Luciano Floridi (Oxford/Hertfordshire)
 Barbara Grosz (Harvard)
 Aaron Sloman (Birmingham)

 The Judges for Research Theme 3 (Nature of Information: Complexity,
 Randomness, Hiddenness of Information):

 Eric Allender (Rutgers)
 Rodney Downey (Wellington)
 Manindra Agrawal (Kanpur)

 The Judges for Research Theme 4 (How should we compute? New Models of
 Logic and Computation):

 Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
 Gordon Plotkin (Edinburgh)
 Robert I. Soare (Chicago)

 Proposals should be made via the EasyChair submission page at:

 For further details, see: